The Department of Sociology at the University of Basel comprises the Chairs of General Sociology (Prof. Dr. Axel Paul), Social Structure Analysis (Prof. Dr. Oliver Nachtwey), Social Research and Methodology (Prof. Dr. Max Manfred Bergman) and African Studies (Prof. Dr. ElĂ­sio Macamo), as well as the Assistant Professorship in Political Sociology (Prof. Dr. Denise Traber).

Rheinsprung 24

Prof. Dr. Max Bergman

Professorship Bergman


Prof. Dr. Elisio Macamo

Professorship Macamo


Prof. Dr. Oliver Nachtwey

Professorship Nachtwey


Prof. Dr. Axel Paul

Professorship Paul

Denise Traber

Prof. Dr. Denise Traber

Professorship Traber